Skip to content

Your turn!

March 11, 2011

I hope you’ve been joining us on this journey through Ruth! In case you missed anything, here’s what we covered this week:

Now, it’s your turn to dig in and share!

When we read Biblical narrative, sometimes we leave it as dry, two-dimensional words on a page. When I taught Bible in a Christian high school I used to get frustrated hearing the kids read Scripture – it sounded like they were reading a math textbook aloud! 🙂 This is a story – a beautiful, powerful story. And yes, we should think. We should study. We should examine the text to see exactly what it says and does not say. But a story should also make us feel – these were real women in a real crisis, and considering what these events must have been like for them helps us grasp the meaning and weight of this text on a deeper level.

As you read through chapter one of Ruth, place yourself in the shoes of Ruth and Naomi and use that imagination God has given you to consider what this was like. What do you think their relationship might have been like? What hints do you see from the text of their personalities, struggles, strengths? If you were in their position, how might this experience impact your walk with God?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 7:02 am

    I can’t help but think that Naomi must have served the Lord faithfully and been a powerful example to her daughters-in-law. Her devotion to the Lord must have been attractive to Ruth for Ruth to have been willing to leave Moab with her mother-in-law. Before the death of all the men, they must have been a close family for Ruth to have felt such devotion.

    As someone who is approaching the age in life when I could have a daughter-in-law or son-in-law, Naomi inspires me reach out for the kind of relationship Naomi must have had with her daughters-in-law. She must have nurtured and cared for those women for them to have loved her enough to follow her. Yes, Orpah turned back, but only after Naomi urged her to do so.

    I guess it just paints a beautiful picture of a relationship that runs counter to how OUR culture depicts in-laws and what those relationships are usually like. The world tells us in-laws are mean and meddling, but the word of God paints us a beautiful picture of what life can be like when we live a life that honors the Lord.

  2. March 11, 2011 10:19 pm

    Can I “ditto” what Natlie said – it’s beautiful.

    But I can also imagine there were some awkward moments as well. Silence along with deep discussions. I can imagine while Naomi and Ruth were walking, Naomi was telling Ruth the layout of the city, what to expect when she got there, what not to expect when she got there. There might have been discussions about who lived where, where not to shop – all the things that one might expect to get from a travel magazine or brochure – except Ruth wasn’t going on vacation. She was moving there – taking up residence with her mother-in-law.

    I’m encouraged by their relationship – my relationships with my mothers-in-law were not like thata and I think now on what I’ve missed. But I have my mother and a great friend who I consider my Spiritual Mother.

    All – in – all, they were friends until the end.

  3. March 12, 2011 1:01 am

    One thing that ministers to me most was when Ruth said “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.” (Ruth 1:16)

    How powerful Naomi’s testimony of faith must have been for Ruth to see the true living God dwell in her midst.

    Ruth surrendered the comfort of all she knew. Her home, her family, her bleeding heart over a husband who was no more, to travel in the footsteps of Naomi, seeking refuge of the Almighty God.

    Do I live in such a way that my own daughters will one day rise up and say with all the conviction in their heart, they want to serve my God?

    Is my own testimony real in their lives so that they would see Jesus?

    In my quiet hour of contemplation, I hear the still small voice of the One who walked this road less traveled. “Will you go where I will go? Will you stay where I am? Will My people be your people? Will I be your God?”

    Those whispered words by my Kinsman Redeemer have compelled my life’s prayer.

    Yes, Lord. I will go.

    Can’t wait to continue the journey this month! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

