Skip to content

Your Turn – Praise Him!

September 10, 2010

Not all Christians have a dramatic conversion story like Stephanie’s heart-wrenching journey which she shared yesterday. Many more of us have “normal” – or dare I say it – “boring” testimonies. But sisters, there are no boring testimonies! All Christians are sinners saved by the merciful grace of God! As Kristi so clearly showed from Scripture, all people are sinners. We are all condemned to eternal death because of our rebellion against God. (If you missed Sandra’s post about hell, check it out now.) We all need salvation. And our holy God has provided it through the death and resurrection of His son Jesus Christ. Doesn’t that just make you want to shout!

The Apostle Peter couldn’t help but praise God when he reflected on his own salvation:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade.  1 Peter 1:3-4

Today, let’s honor God for His glorious salvation. Leave a Scripture. Voice your own words of praise. Thank God for saving you! May our words be a pleasing aroma to our holy Lord.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 9:41 am

    What a great exchange … the things of this world for an inheritance that will never “spoil or fade.” That is a mercy I know I can’t even wrap my mind around, but I am so grateful to receive it!

  2. September 10, 2010 10:30 am

    “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.” Isaiah 1:18

    Praise be to God that through His Son’s blood I am as white as snow!

  3. September 10, 2010 4:15 pm

    “Surely God is my salvation;
    I will trust and not be afraid.
    The LORD, the LORD, is my strength
    and my song; he has become my
    salvation…Sing to the LORD for he
    has done glorious things; let this be
    known to the world.”
    Isaiah 12:2, 5

  4. September 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    Once again you ladies have done an awesome job this week on Scripture Dig!

    “He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed”
    I Peter 2:24 (ESV)

    ~Blessings~
    Marita

  5. Kristy Lynn permalink
    September 13, 2010 2:28 am

    I just read Steph’s Story and was really touched by it because it had similarities to mine. I appreciate her openness because I needed the reminder that God loves me despite my past because He has removed it from my life the moment I accepted Him into my life!!
    One of my favorite verses is 1 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”
    Praise God that He has made me new!!!

    • stephanieshott permalink
      September 13, 2010 8:34 am

      Kristy Lynn ~ It brakes my heart every time I hear that someone has had to walk down the same difficult path as I have. But God loves you with an everlasting love. It’s so important that we keep our eyes and hearts focused on God’s precious love and plan for our lives and not let our hearts linger in the past.

      Paul may not have had a past like ours, but he understood what a bad past was and in Phil 3:13-14 he said, “Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

      Keep pressing sister…Jesus has already made you victorious!

Leave a Reply

