Skip to content

Your Turn ~ Praying Tips, Tools, & Techniques

August 27, 2010

We’ve been sharing with you all month some of our favorite prayer guides and methods.

Praying Hands

Now it’s Your Turn!  We want to know about your prayer life.  Got a favorite prayer method?  A passage of Scripture you love to pray?  Is there a book you’ve read on prayer that has been especially useful?   Maybe you’ve written a post about how you organize your prayer life?
Whatever you want to share with us, we’d love to know … What is your best tip, tool, technique, etc. about prayer?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 6:34 am

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about prayer and it has opened my eyes in many ways. My absolute best “method” is simply to pray out loud…it helps to keep distractions out of my mind, because my thoughts tend to wander…

    I also write prayers in a journal.

    The “funny” thing about what I’ve just shared, is that a couple of days ago God exposed the prayerless in my own heart….ouch…but that is another post for another day. 🙂 For now, I’ll share my prayer journal: http://madabella.typepad.com/blog/2010/08/diy-prayer-journal.html

  2. August 27, 2010 9:14 am

    I agree with praying out loud as the above comment said. Also Iv learned alot about prayer from my children…keep it simple:) So my general advice for prayer is do it frequently and talk to God like he’s your Dad, because he is. He knows your heart, so trying to say something “just right” or in a way that you think will get the point across better is not necessary. Just pour your heart out to him everyday.

    • August 27, 2010 9:48 am

      Aren’t our children such wise teachers? I watch my daughter in wonder sometimes … she doesn’t feel the need to explain her petitions or her worries, she just offers them to the Lord. What a wonderful example for one like me who often gets caught up in the details and then picks up the whole mess again right after I say “Amen.”

  3. August 27, 2010 9:40 am

    Just like Melissa, praying out loud as well as in a journal helps me keep my mind focused on what I’m doing, not worrying about the things on my to do list, whether I’ve given Momma her medicine yet, or if I need to take the dog to the vet…life is distracting and it seems the enemy would like nothing more than to add more to distract us from talking to our mighty God!

    • August 27, 2010 9:46 am

      Heathahlee, I struggle with those same things myself. I’ve begun using those distracting thoughts as prayer prompts … when I think about something I need to do later, I pray that God will keep me safe while I’m driving or open a door for sharing His love, etc. It has helped me and I’ve noticed that I am better able to stay focused … guess that strategy of the enemy is being foiled!! 🙂

  4. August 27, 2010 3:46 pm

    My four year old asked me yesterday if God hears his prayers if he whispers them. I said of course, and that God even hears the prayers we pray in our heads. I pray most of my prayers in my head, but the comments on this post have encouraged me to pray out loud! Thanks for sharing ladies!

  5. stephanieshott permalink
    August 27, 2010 4:37 pm

    I agree with the gang here…my prayer focus is better when I pray out loud. But sometimes, when my prayer forcus is on praise and worship, I just sing to the Lord.

    This month’s focus on prayer has been a huge blessing for me. It’s encouraged, challenged and caused me to re-evaluate and refocus. Love it!!

  6. August 27, 2010 7:35 pm

    I have used a prayer journal for 15+ years. I either list my prayers then pray through them or I write out my prayers in paragraph form as a “letter” to God.

    I especially like the prayer journal method for the purpose of being able to go back and see where God has answered my prayers.

  7. August 28, 2010 10:56 am

    Love reading everyone’s comments 🙂 And I agree with Alyssa about how nice it is to go back and see God’s hand in my daily life. In fact, my favorite thing to do on New Year’s Day is to go back through my prayer journal for the previous year and reflect on all the ways God showed Himself faithful! So encouraging!

    As far as a daily routine, I journal and pray out loud too. In the early morning, while everyone else is sleeping, I journal. I list the things I am thankful for, the sins I need to confess, and my prayers. Some days I write out all my prayers in my journal and other days I may just make a list of people I want to intercede for and jot their needs out to the side to pray about throughout the day.

    My absolute best “praying out loud” time is in my car on the way back home from dropping my kids off at school each morning. I SO look forward to it. I may start out praying for others, but I always seem to end my prayer time in good conversation with Him about the anything and everything–things that are troubling me, the things I am happy about, etc. LOVE that time with Him in my car!

    Several years ago I read in The Power of a Praying Parent to take each anxious thought as a cue from the Holy Spirit to pray about that thing at that moment…to immediately turn the worry into a prayer. I don’t always do this perfectly, but when I remember to do it, it gives me such peace.

    Hope everyone has a great weekend!

  8. August 28, 2010 4:21 pm

    In the past I have kept a prayer journal where I literally wrote out all my prayers. Today, I use a journal to keep track of requests and updates, notes from Bible study, etc…
    When my heart is very heavy, I do go to my journal and write to the Lord. It really helps me. I keep all my journals, and once in a while it is such a blessing to go back and read how God has worked in my life!

    Two weeks ago I started using a prayer calendar. I wrote about it here:
    http://nikkit3.blogspot.com/2010/08/prayer-calendar.html

    I really like Evelyn Christenson’s “What Happens When Women Pray” and Beth Moore’s “Praying God’s Word.”

  9. September 3, 2010 11:25 am

    I have loved your series on prayer!! God has grown my heart in prayer very much over the last 2 years. It wasn’t always as important as it is to me. I have written a lot of posts on prayer at my blog, you can look here at my Prayer Page:

    http://candacemercyisnew.blogspot.com/p/prayer.html

    God is teaching me so much about being still before Him…and it is very hard for me, to be still, but I’m learning. 🙂 I have very much enjoyed Praying the Scriptures For Your Children by Jodie Berndt. I use those verses in that book to pray for everyone, not just my children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

