Skip to content

Your Turn to Pray

August 6, 2010

For three days we’ve been digging into the Lord’s Prayer. On the first day, we considered our attitude of prayer. Do we have the right motivation? Are we bold and persistent? Do we trust in the character of the One who hears our prayers?

On the second and third days we worked through six components of Jesus’ model prayer. I’d love to hear from you about how one of the following components has looked in your prayer time this week:

  • Approach God as Father.
  • God deserves our praise and worship. We are to “hallow” His name.
  • Pray for God’s rule and reign to be established on earth like it is in heaven.
  • Ask God to meet your needs and the needs of others.
  • Confess and repent of your sins.
  • Ask God for His wisdom and strength in the midst of trials and temptations.

Let us know how one of these shaped your prayer time this week. Even write a prayer you prayed this week!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 10:45 am

    Reading through the Psalms, asking Who is God, and why do I care? this week has been great. I’ve seen God to be:

    Faithful – He always does what He promises to do. I can trust Him.
    Eternal – He is unchanging and has no beginning and no end. I need to claim my identity in Him daily. Everything else is temporary and can change in a heartbeat – only He is eternal!
    Sustainer – When my strength fails, He carries me through.

    I love starting my day in adoration of who God is, and relating who He is to my daily life!

  2. August 6, 2010 10:48 am

    This week, my prayers have been for wisdom and laying down myself to reveal God Himself through all I do. And, to be fair, there have been lots of prayers of confession and repentance for the selfishness that has come from being focused on a big project. Thank you, Kathy, for this excellent way of refocusing our prayer lives … and our hearts. What a blessing this week has been!

  3. August 6, 2010 4:07 pm

    For me prayer has be a mixed bag. Brokenness over my wretched self; broken hearted over a lost family member; thankful for open doors in my speaking ministry; grateful for possible doors of my writing ministry; a hurting heart as I watch my mom suffer through this battle with cancer; seeking wisdom and direction for my husband’s ministry and praying for his upcoming surgery.

    Kathy, your post has helped bring clarity to my prayer life when things started getting a little muddy in the mix.

    I love you, sister and I love your heart for others!

  4. August 7, 2010 6:05 pm

    “Ask God to meet your needs and the needs of others” What I have found, especially recently, when I pray asking to meet someone’s needs…I am reminded of the sovereignty of God. His will is so much better than my own and He always has a purpose for how and why He answers my prayers. I have learned to trust Him in all He does. So, as I ask God to meet my needs, I know He will do what is best for me. When I ask Him to meet the needs of thers, I know His plan for their life is perfect as well. The result, is a comforting peace deep down in my soul.

    Living for Him, Joan

  5. August 7, 2010 6:44 pm

    I’ve loved this series. It came right at the same time as my pastor’s bible study on the Lord’s Prayer and my own determination to set myself a daily focused prayer time. This week I’ve learned to be in constant praise to Him, and to look for His lessons and reminders in all I do.

  6. August 9, 2010 12:18 pm

    Confession is such a wonderful part of prayer, but it’s something I neglect too often. I tend to mull over the day as I drift off to sleep, and focus on the mistakes I made. If I will confess those mistakes that were sins, I go to sleep much more peacefully.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Your Turn to Pray « Scripture Dig -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

