Skip to content

Your Turn ~ What did you read today?

July 27, 2010

All of the Scripture Dig team is busy doing final preparations for She Speaks so for the rest of the week, it’s going to be a little quiet around here.

But we wanted to know, what did you read today?  A passage of Scripture that was especially meaningful, a quote from a book that made you think, even a blog post that you found encouraging … we’d love to hear what you are reading that is inspiring or challenging you in your disciple’s walk.

So, your turn … what did you read today?

Image by:  Andy_Carter (via Flickr)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 9:48 am

    I was really encouraged by a blog post I saw today from “Like a Warm Cup of Coffee”.

    Are you a bubbling brook or a stagnant stream?

    http://www.likeawarmcupofcoffee.com/home/2010/07/are-you-a-bubbling-brook-or-a-stagnant-stream/

  2. Stephanie T permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:50 am

    This was so special to me I posted it on my facebook status. It is from yesterday’s Our Daily Bread devotion and is based on I Cor. 12:21-25. The devotional used these verses regarding a child with a disease that is incurable, it eventually took her life. My son has a learning disability, he doesnt fit the mold of normal children, but these verses and this quote show me that God has a unique and divine plan for his life that surpasses anything I could possibly dream for him…

    “This world is not reserved for the perfect, the wealthy, the athletic. Each person, no matter their physical, emotional or mental condition is created in the Image of God and is of equal value and significance on this earth.”

  3. July 27, 2010 9:54 am

    Over breakfast, the children and I read in Luke 1 – Mary’s song. When I enter into her heart of excitement and praise – I am reminded to praise God too. He has done so many great things for me too!!! Exciting things – too great for me to understand!

    I encouraged the children to speak out praises in their daily life – as Mary did. I reminded them of the previous day when we were carrying in groceries from the car and mommy said out loud “praise the Lord for all this food and that we have never gone hungry a day in our lives.”

    I want to role model praising God out loud in my life to them. Mary is my role model – her song is glorious – filled with rich understanding of the character of God! The kids and I listed the many things we are grateful for and then off they went to play!

    The best way to start the day!

  4. July 27, 2010 10:33 am

    This morning I’ve been reading and studying about the jealousy of God. God has the right to be jealous of our worship because He alone deserves all worship. We don’t hear about this much because jealousy on our part is sinful so we tend to view it negatively. Our jealousy is sinful because we don’t deserve the honor we crave. But God deserves it all!

  5. July 27, 2010 12:34 pm

    I spent some time in Jeremiah this morning. I’m reading it slowly … a chapter and sometimes even less each day. Today I spent some time in chapter 14 and wow was it convicting. In verse 9 the people cry out for the Lord’s return to them … but in verse 10, He replies, “You love to wander far from me and do not follow in my paths. Now I will no longer accept you as my people. I will remember all your wickedness and will punish you for your sins.”

    While I know the “end of the story” and the blessed remnant that remains in Him, I still recognized my own stiff-necked rebellion … I realize that He cannot walk beside me when I am walking in the way of the wicked (Psalm 1:1).

  6. July 27, 2010 5:21 pm

    Ugg… I have had this page open ALL day to remind myself that I need to get off the computer and spent time in the Word… it’s now 5:21pm, and I have yet to do so… guess I won’t be sharing what I’ve read today. Going to get off the computer, though, and spend some time w/ Him!

  7. July 27, 2010 7:16 pm

    One of my favorite pieces I have read today was in my morning QT. Joni Eareckson Tada “Pearls of Great Price”. The title of the devotion was “Praise the Lord with Every Part. Based on Psalm 103:1-5.

    Joni challenged the readers to say a prayer of thanks when we have body aches and pains. Praying “Bless the Lord, Oh my soul, and all that is within me, bless His Holy Name.”

    I just love the reminder to Thank God in all I do, in all I experience and in all I feel.

    Blessings~
    Marita

  8. July 28, 2010 8:41 am

    Philippians 4.8
    Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

    I have seen this verse everywhere I look this week!! I really need to obey it and take my thoughts and hold them up to this- I think on probs/ worries/peoples mistakes & focus on how i feel and gnaw on it- but God says DON’T!! 

    Instead I need to be obedient and think on these things: truth, noble, right, pure,lovely, admirable,excellent, praiseworthy – wow according to this how much junk should I just be saying to myself “nope- not going there” I also need to hold my words accountable to this too. 
    This is tough for me. 
    Yesterday  I  printed this verse out and put it up to see to try to remind me as God has just been bringing it up over & over so I want to really learn what He would have me learn.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Your Turn ~ What did you read today? « Scripture Dig -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

