Skip to content

Your Turn ~ How do you mark your Bible?

July 20, 2010

Edited:  SO sorry the linky isn’t working!   But please feel free to share your link in the comments so we can see your Bibles … I apologize for the mix-up!! ~ Teri Lynne

A few weeks ago when we asked what you were reading in your quiet time, one of our commenters asked us to share what our Bibles look like … how we mark them.

Here’s a few pictures from my {Teri Lynne’s} Bible:

As you can see, I use highlighters and pens … I write in thoughts and prayers … and in many ways my Bible becomes my spiritual journal. I ask myself questions based on what I’ve read and when a verse reveals a particular issue in my life, I often put the date and the concern … then find great joy in being able to later mark a new date and the way God has answered the prayer.

I loved this suggestion and today we’d love for you to link up your pictures of your Bible marked up!    So, take a picture and post to your blog, facebook, or other photosharing site and then link up!!    Of course, you can leave a comment too and share what you do if you don’ t  have a photo.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    July 20, 2010 8:55 am

    I tried to Linky, but I think I haven’t had enough coffee yet. 😉 Here is a photo from my Bible.

    DSC_0005

    Thank you for this link up. What a blessing to peek into the most sacred places of our friends! I’m encouraged.

  2. July 20, 2010 9:42 am

    User error – I couldn’t get the linky to work either – sorry 😦 I tried!
    Courtney

  3. July 20, 2010 12:52 pm

    Great idea! I am nursing a sick baby right now but I will definitely link up later today or tomorrow! I just bought a Bible made for marking in and have really enjoyed getting it all marked up! I also love seeing other people’s Bibles and how they mark them. Love this post, can’t wait to see more!

  4. July 20, 2010 1:14 pm

    I like to take notes, leave outlines, and draw my attention to key phrases/ideas… My Bible went through Bible school with me, so it is well marked in multiple books! I like having the “extra notes” right with the text for easy reference and to remind me of things I’ve learned over the years.

  5. stephanieshott permalink
    July 20, 2010 2:13 pm

    Love the insight into one another’s Bibles. My Bibles are marked differently for the different seasons I’ve been through while I was using that particular Bible.

    Funny, but there’s something bittersweet about getting a new Bible. It’s like a fresh start of a new chapter in my life, but it’s hard to put down the one I just left behind. So much was learned from yesterday’s journey that I don’t want to forget to take into today’s adventure. But there are times when I sense it’s time to start over…and so I do. 🙂

    • July 21, 2010 12:17 pm

      I have always struggled when I’ve gotten a new Bible. It’s hard to let go (I still have one duct taped together that I will occasionally reference) and it takes awhile to learn where everything is in the new one.

    • July 23, 2010 9:55 am

      I also have a bit of a struggle when I get a new Bible as well. It is bittersweet.

  6. July 20, 2010 2:55 pm

    Hmmm… not working for me either! Here’s a link to the post I did about it though: http://sandrapeoples.blogspot.com/2010/07/inside-my-bible.html

  7. July 20, 2010 3:44 pm

    I love writing in my bible to help me remember new truths I have learned. I don’t know if I could give up my bible for another. Here’s a link to my blog to see my bible: http://www.heartandsoulreflections.com/2010/07/my-bible.html.

  8. Sally permalink
    July 20, 2010 4:44 pm

    I didn’t try posting my picture, seeing the link wasn’t cooperating. I recently acquired a new Bible because my old Bible of 25 years had fallen apart. For a while I found it hard to switch to the new Bible because I missed my notations and I was comfortable with my old Bible. But my new Bible is growing on me. I switched to ESV from NASB with the new Bible purchase and one advantage of the new Bible is that I’m discovering a freshness in reading the Scripture in a different translation. Familiar verses pop out with new insight and clarity.

    Thanks for the daily posts. I look forward to reading them and applying them.

  9. July 21, 2010 12:07 am

    How fun! Here’s a link to my Bible. I mark and journal in mine.

    http://holycamp09.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/inside-my-bible/

  10. July 21, 2010 12:32 am

    Love all the comments and pictures. Some great ideas.
    I love reading the notes in the margins of my grandmothers old Bible. She has been gone since 1988. Her notes were simple and heartfelt. There is something very comforting about it.

    I have been through several Bibles and am still searching for the correct way for me to mark my Bible. My conclusion thus far, simple is better. I love using colors, but to many colors and symbols is very distracting for me. Now I just use my Helix graphic pen for notes (won’t bleed through the pages) and 3 colors. I make sure I put notes in the margins (wide margin Bible) and dates so I don’t forget why I marked the passage.
    ~Blessings~
    Marita

    • July 21, 2010 7:39 am

      I recently told Scott’s grandmother that I would love to have her Bible one day. She has been the most significant influence in my life – not just spiritually but about being a wife and mother as well. To be able to read through her Bible with the notes she has scratched into it over the years would be such a blessing to me.

    • July 21, 2010 12:19 pm

      My cousin’s grandma bought a Bible w/ just that purpose – to mark it and give it as a gift to her granddaughter. I’ve also heard of others doing this for each of their grandkids. What an incredible gift to give/receive!

      • July 21, 2010 3:16 pm

        I have one I’ve started for Casiday … but it sort of gets pushed to the side. I figure by the time she’s 13 or so (in three years!) I may have it done enough to give it to her. 🙂

      • July 21, 2010 10:29 pm

        My grandmother would take one of our bibles and use it for a year and then give it back to us with her notes in it. She would write notes and prayers specific for whoever’s bible she had and then give it back to us to use. It was so nice to read her notes after she was gone, it’s like still having her around to study the bible with.

  11. Linda permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:01 am

    I work as a nurse in a dementia unit. One resident’s family brought in her ‘much marked ‘ bible. The leather was well worn and pages very fragile. I can read her favorite scriptures to her. She perks up when we do. It helps us see her love for the Lord and her love for His Word.

    • stephanieshott permalink
      October 14, 2010 2:04 pm

      Linda ~ What a beautiful story of a life lived for the glory of God. Her face, as well has the pages of her Bible, show her love for the Lord!

  12. Steph permalink
    April 13, 2011 9:11 pm

    I hope everyone can see this! I have never tried to post a pic on a blog before!

    My Thompson KJV 41311

    • Kristi Stephens permalink*
      April 14, 2011 8:00 am

      Love seeing pictures of well-loved Bibles, Steph! Thank you for sharing!

    • Steph permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:50 pm

      Thanks Kristi! I have marked so many versus that I’m a little embarrassed to whip out my bible in church.

  13. JCastle permalink
    June 18, 2011 6:16 pm

    Well, I’m almost a year late but I’m posting my Bible picture anyway. I’ve only recently found this site and I love it. Each day I’m going back and looking through older posts and love the site even more.
    I love the comments about the grandmother marking her grand children’s Bibles. What a memory that will be! I have a journal that belonged to my husband’s wonderful, godly, grandmother. I want to frame it, but have never been able to put it away long enough. It has a wealth of God’s messages to her inside and blesses me so much every time I read it.
    My Bible looks like everyone’s does, marked with all different colors, some more faded than others. Passages are underlines and notes are in the margins. The one thing I try to do is make a “Note from God” when He tells me something specific. I’ve bought newer Bibles, different translations, and I love reading them, but I always go back to my Disciples Study Bible. The cover is wearing off and some of the pages are so marked up it’s hard to read, but I love it!
    Blessings to everyone for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Your Turn ~ How do you mark your Bible? « Scripture Dig -- Topsy.com
  2. Inside my Bible « Holy Camp

Leave a Reply

