Skip to content

Your Turn ~ Finding Time

July 7, 2010

First of all, thank you to all of you who completed our survey!  We appreciate your input.   Based on that information, we learned that – not surprisingly – the greatest struggle most of our readers face in having a daily time in the Word is … TIME! It is a struggle to find and make the time for this vital pursuit.

We hope you were encouraged by Stephanie’s reminder:  “We’re all in different seasons in our lives and we face an ongoing jockeying of our schedules trying to prevent our worlds from colliding with our time in the Word.”

And, it is our prayer that Julie’s words of encouragement were especially useful to those of you with wee ones.  Many of us are out of that season of life … but we remember the exhaustion that accompanies it!   And, her insights are easily applicable to other busy times in our lives, whether we are at home full-time, at work full-time or all of the above!! 🙂

Today, though, we’d like to know when and how you make the time to read God’s Word. I {Teri Lynne} make it a point to get up before my family, especially during the school year, and spend time reading the Bible and praying.  In fact, I try to live by this rule, “I don’t speak to anyone until I’ve listened to God.”   For me, that means getting up by 6:00 every morning so I have at least 45 minutes of time.  I always set my alarm for 5:15 and but some days that just doesn’t happen.

Your turn … when and how do you find and make the time to spend in God’s Word and prayer?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 6:22 am

    Much to my dismay, I’ve tried every alternative BUT getting up early…and none ever worked long term. I read Shopping for Time by Carolyn Mahaney and realized rising early was my only option at this stage of my life. Having older kids and no excuses, my lack of discipline could only be a result of my lack of passion for God’s Word (ugh…that’s painful to even see in print, much less published on a blog). I’m now into my 4th month of rising at 5am (or 5:30 if I “sleep in”), have adjusted my internal clock (something I never thought a night owl could do), started a private blog that only a couple of people can access to hold me accountable and have had a GREAT time developing a new habit and more importantly a passion for God’s Word.

  2. July 7, 2010 7:27 am

    Getting up earlier then the kids is the only thing that works for me. During the summer I get up at 7am and during the school year 5:30 to be able to have my quiet time before the kids disrupt the silence =) My hubby and I have devotions with the kids in the evening before bed and a short devotion together before we go to sleep but my personal quiet time is my favorite and the most important for me to make it through the day filled with the Spirit and not my flesh.

    • July 7, 2010 9:31 am

      I have found the exact same thing! If I can get up before everyone, my whole demeanor is changed … I always like to think of it as the way Moses’ countenance glowed after he’d spent time with God … and I want that sort of glow on me when I begin waking my family.

  3. Alexis permalink
    July 7, 2010 9:06 am

    I am starting to realize that getting up earlier than my family will be the best option for me to making my quiet time consistent and I not a morning person at all! 😦 I guess this is where discipline will come and God’s strength! There have been some mornings when I send the boys to play in their room for a little while while I do my QT or I will do it during their afternoon nap/rest time. It’s just not the same doing it in the afternoon as opposed to the AM. If I spend my time with God in the AM, my day seems to flow better. I am also thinking my morning QT will give me some room do to some “study” in the afternoon also.

    • July 7, 2010 9:29 am

      So many women I have taught and mentored have found the exact same things, Alexis! It is tough but so rewarding. I have found that “extra” time in the afternoons very useful for more in-depth study.

  4. July 7, 2010 9:41 am

    I set my alarm for 6:30 and pray that my children sleep until at least 7:30 so I can have my time with my Heavenly Father. With a 3 year old and a 1 year old, that doesn’t always happen. So, on the days where my morning routine gets a little off track, I just switch my time to the evening, after the kids are in bed. I spend an hour with my Heavenly Father…reading His word and relaxing in His presence. In fact, yesterday was one of those days where my children had other plans for my morning routine and I had to switch my time to the evening. My husband and I sat on the couch and I read the Bible aloud to him. It was a wonderful time spent together in God’s word!

    • July 7, 2010 12:38 pm

      Amy, what a great back-up plan! And I think that helps keep us on track. If the first time doesn’t work, we know when we’ll do it later. Love the image of you reading Scripture to your husband … what a wonderful way to spend an evening.

  5. July 7, 2010 9:57 am

    I’ve found that if I don’t have my time with God first thing in the morning then life gets in the way and sometimes I never get to it. Back in the fall, I had gotten in the habit of “quickly checking my email” before I had my time with God. Slowly, but surely the time on the computer intruded more and more into my quiet time. In January I made a new commitment to put God and my time with Him first. And so far, I’m still on track! I love my time with Him.

    • July 7, 2010 12:38 pm

      I have been there too, Kathy! I have had to battle that “it’ll just take a minute” computer issue on several occasions.

    • July 7, 2010 3:42 pm

      I confess the computer has been a distraction for me too. My remedy has been to check emails while the coffee is brewing and as soon as it’s done so am I. I then make a hot cup of cafè, grab my Bible, study books, notebook and a pen and get in the Word. If not, my day has a way of getting away and the next thing I know it’s time for bed.

  6. July 7, 2010 11:06 am

    I have been notoriously bad at finding consistent time. I decided this summer that I would get up each morning about 7:30 before the kids to begin a new quiet time schedule. This was in the hopes of getting into the habit now, and then when school starts, my habit would already be established.

    I am really pleased so far. I have had some excellent prayer time on my back patio in the morning enjoying the beauty and sounds around me. It just really adds to my time talking with God while rejoicing in His creation. Now each morning I really look forward to this quiet time with God.

    • July 7, 2010 12:36 pm

      Don’t you just love that early morning time, Cherie? So peaceful … I will be praying for you as you continue this routine.

    • July 7, 2010 11:18 pm

      WooHoo Cheri!
      I love success stories! Great way to plan ahead and be ready when school starts. Your body will be used to the schedule and you be enjoying time with the Living God!

  7. July 7, 2010 12:36 pm

    I love the stories of so many waking up early! I’m a little different though- my Bible reading time is at 9:00pm. The boys are asleep, my husband is usually doing his own thing at that time, and the house is nice and quiet. I try to find a verse during my study time that I continue to meditate on the next day.

  8. July 7, 2010 12:38 pm

    Getting up before my husband does is just not possible or feasible for me, however, I could get up with him, or at least see him off on his earliest mornings, and then get my quiet time in before the kids get up. That or the quiet time after everyone goes to bed. I just have to be disciplined about it.

  9. July 7, 2010 3:26 pm

    My QT used to be early in the morning and I loved it, then I moved and started working from home which made it easier to sleep in. Since then I struggle to find a consistent QT. I need to get back into getting up at 6:00 a.m. and going straight to my QT. Several of you ladies mentioned how peaceful it is and that is what I have found. It also just sets the tone for the rest of the day. Please pray for me as I set my goal beginning in the morning to rise at 6:00 a.m. each day and spend time with my Father consistently.
    ~ Blessings~
    Marita

    • July 7, 2010 4:20 pm

      Lord, bless Marita’s committment to wake at 6am to spend time with you. In fact, wake her up at 5:55 refreshed and excited to talk to you!

  10. July 7, 2010 8:42 pm

    Well I’m glad to hear (and not surprised) that I’m not alone in the on-going struggle to “gag” the seemingly urgent distractions of life so I can be the with the Lord and hear Him. I add my vote to those who can testify that if I am not with the Lord in the morning in some form or fashion, it doesn’t take long before my flesh shows up and takes over.

Trackbacks

  1. The Type A Quiet Time « Scripture Dig
  2. The Type A Quiet Time

Leave a Reply

