Skip to content

Your Turn ~ What are you reading?

June 24, 2010

We’d love to know what you are reading in Scripture right now.

So, share with us …

  • What is God’s living, vibrant Word speaking into your needy spirit lately?
  • How is Scripture inspiring and challenging you?
  • What is God showing you about Himself as you read?
  • Any passage you have read lately that has grabbed hold of your heart?

How well God must like you—you don’t hang out at Sin Saloon, you don’t slink along Dead–End Road, you don’t go to Smart–Mouth College.  Instead you thrill to God’s Word, you chew on Scripture day and night. You’re a tree replanted in Eden, bearing fresh fruit every month, Never dropping a leaf, always in blossom. ~ Psalm 1:1-3, MSG (emphasis added)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 7:00 am

    2 Thessalonians 3:16 “Now the Lord of peace himself give you peace always by all means. The Lord be with you all.”

    As long as I continue to try and do right for God, there will be peace given by God.

    • June 24, 2010 7:11 am

      I just love 2 Thessalonians, Joy, and I am thankful for that inexplicable peace that HE gives through Christ. Thank you for sharing with us today.

  2. June 24, 2010 7:27 am

    This morning as I read Proverbs 24, I didn’t get past verses 3 & 4. Going to spend some time there, I feel. Wisdom builds a house, understanding establishes it, and knowledge fills it with rare and beautiful treasures … looking for some powerful insight from the Lord about these verses. And excited to see how He transforms my thoughts about our home through an encounter with His Word!

  3. Sheila Cain permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:41 am

    Zephaniah 3:17 “The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

    • Kristi Stephens permalink*
      June 24, 2010 12:24 pm

      That is one of my favorite verses, Sheila. What comfort that He is mighty to save!

      • Alexis permalink
        June 24, 2010 1:45 pm

        Love that verse too!

  4. June 24, 2010 7:45 am

    I’m doing the Breaking Free study by beth moore and was blown away by the scriptures on peace this week. I’ve read them before but it’s time to believe them!

    Isaiah 48:17 Thus says the Lord,

    your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:

    “I am the Lord your God,

    who teaches you to profit,

    who leads you in the way you should go.

    18 Oh that you had paid attention to my commandments!

    Then your peace would have been like a river,

    and your righteousness like the waves of the sea;

    God doesn’t promise peace like a pond but like a river…. exciting and ever-changing non-stagnant..
    “peace is submission to a Trustworthy Authority, not resignation from activity” rivers re infused by springs and tributaries (god’s word, spirit) ….we obtain peace through heeding his commands. i know this is a very familiar verse, but i just loved the imagery in this season!

  5. June 24, 2010 8:06 am

    This year I’m using a Bible reading plan on key characters of the Bible. This week I started on the life of Christ. This morning my reading was out of Luke 2. Since it is a very familiar passage to me I read it from a translation that is less familiar. I love that God involved everyday people in His purposes – Mary, the Shepherds, Simeon, and Anna. God speaks to His people!

  6. June 24, 2010 8:38 am

    For me, it’s been Romans 12:2 and Ephesians 4:17-24. They both talk about renewing and transforming the mind.
    These have been key verses for me for a few months now. I even wrote a blog post about it a couple weeks ago.
    I’ll just put an excerpt from it here:

    “I can’t say that my mind has been warped or reeked of evil thoughts, desires or lust. I guess any subtle, unhealthy thought could qualify
    as a mind that hasn’t been renewed, huh?

    I take this as God preparing me daily to fight each battle as it comes with His mind. Not to be alienated from the life of God, not to be ignorant of His ways and will, but
    to remember what I’ve been taught by Him.

    If we are Christ’s then we’ve already received a new nature (2 Corinthians 5:17). We choose to or not to walk in that newness, righteousness and holiness.”

  7. Kristi Stephens permalink*
    June 24, 2010 9:11 am

    I’ve been reading mostly in Revelation as we work through the Revelation series on my personal blog. The more I read and study this book the more I love it. I love the great assurance that God is in control of everything, that the end of the story has already been written, that He is the only rightful ruler of this world. The more crazy our world becomes the more I rest in the fact that nothing has taken Him by surprise!

    I’ve been reading through kings/chronicles/the prophets with the kids in our one year chronological Bible (just little chunks each day). Always reminds me that God wants our best – our whole heart, complete obedience… half-way is not good enough, He is not fooled by appearances.

  8. Ashley Taylor permalink
    June 24, 2010 12:28 pm

    I am studying Acts right now. I decided to study Acts because 1 I have never studied it and 2 I wanted to learn more about the Holy Spirit. I am beginning chapter 8 this week and I have learned a lot. Fortunately my neighbor is studying it with me, and we have a chance to discuss it so I get another point of view as well.

    • June 24, 2010 3:19 pm

      I’m reading in Acts too Ashely! Such an amazing book on the power of the Spirit – early church growth, the ministries of Peter, John, and Paul, and the inclusion of the Gentiles in the family of God!

  9. Alexis permalink
    June 24, 2010 1:55 pm

    I have been in Judges and Ruth since they occur during the same time period and I am doing a bible study on Ruth.
    I am amazed at how God is showing me that I am not any different then the Israelites. I give into my own stubborn ways, push God aside when life is good but when I hit bump I am searching for Him to help me out instead of steadily walking with Him. He has also showed me no matter the circumstances, He is always with me (Elimelech and Naomi left their country because of the famine and went to Moab. Naomi later returned when she heard how God had come through for his people). He has showed me the grass isn’t always greener on the other side and if I just trust and obey (everyone sing 🙂 ), there will be blessing to be had!

  10. June 24, 2010 3:41 pm

    I’ve had Romans 8:11 rolling around inside for a while now. I’ve also been hearing this verse at the strangest places and times. It’s been mentioned in sermons at church, by friends, even in videos that would seem to have no reason to mention that verse, so I finally figured out that God is trying to get me to “get” something. After spending time praying and meditating, I think He is trying to get me to grasp just how that verse impacts me…”The same Spirit that raised Christ from the dead lives in me.” He’s been revealing some things to me about His plans and this plays a part in those plans.

    Recently my husband and I made the decision to answer the call of God and attend Bible school. The school we will be attending is a 9 month class, M-F from 8-12. This means I will need to leave my job as it’s an 8-5 and requires someone there all day. We’ve been believing that God will increase my husband’s web design business so that I can stay home and not worry about working while going to school (while I LOVE my job I’d rather be able to stay home and study). Since we’ve made this decision though, it seems like the devil is doing his best to change our minds. We’ve had appliances break, including our AC and the pipes in our garage, the car has broken down several times, new business has seemingly dried up for hubby’s business. I have also however, seen Divine protection at work in some really wierd random things that could have been disasterous.

    Yesterday I was on Marybeth’s blog and was reminded that like Jehosephat, if we keep our eyes on the Lord, He will fight our battles for us. I’ve been reminding myself to focus on God’s goodness and mercy, not what the enemy is trying to throw our way. It has made us more determined to stay on the path God has called us to.

    I have really enjoyed coming and reading the posts each day, and have shared with my hubby and friends how helpful this blog is. Thanks so much ladies for continuing to share and teach.

    • June 24, 2010 3:46 pm

      Thank you, Lisa, for your kind words of encouragement. And for sharing what God is showing you. I’ll be praying for you as you step out in obedience to the Lord’s call on your life!! Keep us updated. 🙂

  11. June 25, 2010 8:46 pm

    Our scripture memory group at church just completed 2 Peter 1 this past month. My needy spirit needed to be reminded that it is not what I know about God that matters so much but what I do with that knowledge that truly makes a difference. Peter talks about how grace and peace come through our knowledge of God and how that same knowledge of God is how we come to learn that His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness. Yet, knowledge of God doesn’t make grace, peace, life, and godliness just happen. It’s knowing God that does–it’s having a personal relationship with Him that sets the course of my life on a different path. I don’t just seek knowledge for knowledge’s sake. I seek to know Him and by extension, the power of His resurrection.

    Verses 5-8 really hit me square between the eyes: “For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

    I’ve read this passage dozens of times throughout the years but this go around, verse 8 jumped off the page as I realized that adding to my faith goodness, knowledge, self-control, perseverance, godliness, brotherly kindness, and love is the way to put knowing God into action. If I live a life of “knowing about God” then I will be ineffective and unproductive in my knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. This has given me a new of thinking about what it means to put my faith into action.

    • June 25, 2010 8:55 pm

      Isn’t it amazing how we can read and study over and over and every time God speaks to us through the Living Word! Thank you for sharing this, Susan! I love this: “I don’t just seek knowledge for knowledge’s sake. I seek to know Him and by extension, the power of His resurrection.”

  12. Kristi permalink
    June 26, 2010 4:19 pm

    There are SO many things that I feel like God is working on me with right now!! I, also am reading through Kings/Chronicles/prophets right now, chronologically. Taking great comfort in all the lessons of “Do not fear”, “God is in control!”, etc. that I greatly need at this crazy and confusing time in my family’s life. It’s hard for me not to feel frazzled about things and it seems like at LEAST every other day I am reading something about our BIG BIG God!…Awesome!! 🙂 He knows what I need to hear! 🙂 Also, just started memorizing Proverbs 31:10-31. Only have 10 – 13 down so far, so I have a ways to go but I’ve been enjoying keeping these verses at the front of my mind all week! 🙂 So that’s what I’ve been learning lately…

    • June 26, 2010 5:57 pm

      That is awesome. Thank you for sharing with us. I’ve memorized that passage in Proverbs … great truth to have embedded within us.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Your Turn ~ What are you reading? « Scripture Dig -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

