Skip to content

Your Turn

June 11, 2010

A big part of our desire at Scripture Dig is to encourage you to put what you are learning here – and in your other times of Bible study – into practice. Each week we’ll be offering you a suggested method of doing what we’ve been writing about … those posts will be called “Your Turn.”

Yesterday Kristi did a fabulous job of explaining the differences in translation methods, comparing translations and paraphrases, and helping us understand what all of that means.

Now it’s YOUR TURN …

Look up John 3:16 in two or three different translations and at least one paraphrase. What differences do you note in wording?

And, just for fun, what translation/paraphrase of the Bible do you prefer to use in your own Bible study time?

Some websites you can use to compare translations are Just One Word, Search God’s Word, and Bible Study Tools.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. georgiaboogie permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:21 am

    I’m starting to use my Holman more & more. I used to be an ESV girl, but the HCSB clears up many of the idioms that the ESV just left unexplained. It’s “optimal equivalency” (hehe) keeps things close to the word-for-word but switches over to thought-for-thought when it could be better understood that way.

    • Kristi Stephens permalink*
      June 11, 2010 9:08 am

      That is one that I haven’t used before – sounds like it’s working out well for you!!

    • June 11, 2010 9:43 pm

      The HCSB is one of my favorite translations as well! Whenever a preacher/teacher is reading a passage and then goes on to say “{this} word is better translated {this}” it’s almost always the word the HCSB uses.

  2. June 11, 2010 10:06 am

    When I am focusing on one specific verse I often go to Bible Gateway and copy and paste it from many versions and read through all of the translations. I have always been an NIV girl, but I would like to get a Bible that is better for more in depth study.

    I love John 3:16 from King James, that is how I learned it as a little girl.

    • June 11, 2010 1:17 pm

      I love my NASB, Amy. But I also love the ESV too. I keep the ESV in my purse … though I use my NLT at church, etc … so I almost always have two translations handy – even at church!!

  3. June 11, 2010 2:10 pm

    I follow Teri Lynne, but I just found this site through Amy. So glad to find it! Just today, I looked up the verse that I wanted to blog about, Proverbs 3:3 in different translations, and stuck with the one I use all the time, NIV.

    • Kristi Stephens permalink*
      June 11, 2010 3:48 pm

      So glad you found us, Sandy! Welcome to the dig!

    • June 11, 2010 8:52 pm

      Hey girl! Love how small this blog world can be! And glad that you are here with us at Scripture Dig.

  4. June 11, 2010 7:06 pm

    Hi!
    The homework was fun. 🙂
    I used 4 trans lations. NIV, NLT,ESV, and KJV
    All 4 were saying the same thing but in a little different way.
    NIV,ESV and KJV say “For God so loved the world. The NLT says” For God loved the world so much”.
    In describing Jesus, NIV, NLT said “gave his one and only Son”, ESV said “gave his only Son”, KJV said “gave his only begotten Son.
    It is interesting how making a slight change to a sentence structure can either clarify or complicate the understanding of a sentence.
    My favorite version changes from time to time. Right now it is the ESV, although I enjoy the NIV and absolutely love reading the Psalms, Proverbs and Song of Solomon in the KJV. For study I like to use the KJV, NIV and ESV in concert.

    Thanks for giving us an assignment and a challenge to put what we learn into practice.

    Blessings~ Marita

    • June 11, 2010 8:53 pm

      Marita, We are so glad that you enjoyed the homework! And thanks for sharing what you observed. We’re thankful you have been a part of week one at Scripture Dig!

    • stephanieshott permalink
      June 13, 2010 6:03 pm

      Marita,
      I’m so glad you shared your own weekend dig with us! I’m like you…my favorite version changes, but I love reading Psalms, Proverbs & Ecclesiastes in the KJV. I tend to carry a parallel Bible that always includes the Amplified.

      Hope you come back for week two!

  5. JoAnne Butler permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:05 pm

    I too use many different versions and I really like to include The Message for a commentary of sorts when examining different Scriptures. Here’s what it says for John 3:16:

    “This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life.” Love that!

    Because of Him,
    JoAnne

    • June 11, 2010 8:54 pm

      I love reading The Message … especially those familiar passages. Thanks for sharing what you observed. We are glad you are digging with us!

  6. June 11, 2010 9:41 pm

    I enjoyed reading through everyone’s homework, especially The Message version since I don’t use that one often.

    I use ESV for personal study and blogging. My husband/pastor uses NKJV so that is often the one I take to church.

    Thanks for the links to the translation sites. I need to check them out!

  7. June 12, 2010 3:07 am

    John 3:16-“This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son.
    I am loving reading in the message for my personal readings at the moment, I am getting a fresh look at some of the Word. I love to study in the esv & niv
    Have a lovely weekend

  8. Bobbi permalink
    June 12, 2010 11:45 am

    I study from the ESV. I wite my Daily Grace devotional blog from the NIV & KJV. I have 3 versions on my iPhone, NIV, ESV, and KJV so I can choose which one I want to use at the time. I keep the Mega Commentary on my iPhone for help in study and I have Bible Study Tools program on my PC. As for John :16 in several different versions, they are pretty much the same and I think we all understand the meaning. The only problem I have is the KJV says “only begotten Son” and Jesus Christ was not “begotten” He was and is and will be. The word “begotten” means:

    1. (esp. of a male parent) to procreate or generate (offspring).
    2. to cause; produce as an effect: a belief that power begets power.

    Jesus Christ the Son was not generated, produced, created, or caused. He Is!

    Thanks for the great study. God bless, Bobbi Craigmyle, Psy.D.

  9. June 12, 2010 2:59 pm

    I like the KJV because it’s what I grew up on and memorized verses from but when I looked this up I really liked The Message translation! I’ll have to look into that one for devotionals!

    Thanks for all you are doing here! Great stuff!

  10. June 13, 2010 2:16 am

    Wanted to thank Joanne for sharing The Message version, I used to have The Message, but have somehow lost it, I never read it really. After reading John 3:16 above, I think I want to go out and get it again.

    I only just found this site through a comment in the comment section of a blog called Women Living Well. I am really looking forward to reading what was already shared and following along. I really need to get back in the Word. Thank you for this opportunity.

    I read John 3:16 from KJV, God’s Word, Douay-Rheims and New American Standard. I just picked randomly off of the Search God’s Word site linked to above. KJV and NAS were the most similar only changing “whosoever” for “whoever” and “everlasting” for “eternal.” I liked the God’s Word version where “everyone” is used for “whosoever.” Not sure how to explain why, but everyone just sounds better than whoever or whosoever.

    I went to a conservative Mennonite church when I first became a believer and they stress using the KJV, so that was what I thought should be used. I have since been given a NIV and I do like the ease of reading it. My son was given a ESV at his Baccaulareate and I am curious about how that one will read. I still prefer memorizing in KJV.

  11. Sally permalink
    June 13, 2010 12:26 pm

    I looked at John 3:16 in NIV, NASB, KJV, and the Message. Two primary differences I noted were the use of “only begotten” vs. “one and only” and the word “shall” vs “should” in “shall/should not perish”. The use of “one and only” is an attempt to modernize the more archaic “only begotten”. Both work! I think it’s important to remember that Jesus is the one and only Son of God – not created and not made. Jesus was and is God. I’m not sure which is the better word between “shall” and “should”, but I prefer shall. Should sounds like it may or may happen. Shall is more definitive. It’s hard to explain all in a short comment.
    In all versions, what stands out to me is God’s love for us in providing us a way to know Him personally because Jesus’ death and resurrection reconciles me to God, to whoever believes.

    I have used NASB for a long time. Last year I received a new Bible, an ESV. So I read/study/memorize in the ESV now. I used biblegateway.com for my verse comparison. It lets you see up to 5 different versions of a passage at one time. It eve n has a lot of foreign language translations.

    • Kristi Stephens permalink*
      June 13, 2010 1:54 pm

      Thanks for doing the “homework,” Sally! I appreciate how you compared/contrasted the wording – great observations! I love Biblegateway.com, too – it’s my “go-to” online tool, usually. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Your Turn « Scripture Dig -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

